the week of exhibition

August 10, 2010 at 11:03 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Hello!

Needless to say, I didn’t get a chance on Sunday to write this post, nor did I have the energy to! I’m still trying to recover from being exhausted all last week! It also screwed up my sleep schedule because I had to get up at 6:30 everday last week, my body still thinks that I have to get up that early. Thus, I am writing this post at 7 in the morning.

I have absolutely no food photos from last week, just tons of animal photos and I took a few of the amusement rides that we at the exhibition. I don’t go on those rides because for some reason, they make me sick. ( However, I can handle all the rides at Disney, Busch Gardens and Universal! ) Maybe it’s the smell of fried food and smoke that turned me off…

One of the best parts of my week was the fact that I got to spend all day, everyday with my best friend

the bandage on her leg? her horse dumped her twice on the first day, rendering her unable to ride for the whole week

her horse, Sam. The guilty one!

Its not totally his fault, he is only four, very green ( inexperienced ) and there was a lot going on around him. My bestie made the best of it though, and didn’t let it get her down or stop her from spending all the time at the barn at the ex. Unfortunately her injury is going to prohibit her from riding at the next clinic in a week and a half aswell :(

Anyways, how about a look at what the exhibition rides look like ? ( they are quite sketchy )

this ride spins extremely fast in a circle. it is space ship like and not fun

"The Spider" , it's movement is hard to describe. The "legs" move up and down and spin.

The worst one of em' all. The entire thing spins and the little cages you sit in spin all the way around aswell.

So, needless to say, the rides weren’t my favorite part. Besides getting to ride Lucy for two hours everyday, the part of exhibition I loved most was the Kiddie Farm. Local farms donated some animals for the week, so that people could look and pet them. I have a billion photos from the farm, the animals were so adorable! I’ve tried to pick out my favorites :)

I LOVE sheep. that must be why I have atleast twenty photos of them...

so cute!

I'm not a big fan of goats, I had a bad experience as a kid. But, this one was sweet

Alpacas! Really cute, huge eyes, made the coolest sound but were not very friendly

Puppies! so adorable

Pot bellied pig, I've never seen an animal this fat before. It was insane

Bubbles, the texas long horn cow.

Ginger, a super sweet pony :)

And that’s it for the kiddie farm! There was also some rabbits and chickens that I didn’t snap a picture of. The Kiddie Farm was in a separate barn from where I kept Lucy. In our barn, we were unfortunate fortunate enough to share it with other animals

oxen, whos moos & jingling cow bells I can still hear....

I actually adore oxen, they are really sweet and kind, and nothing phases them. They just pull obscene amounts of weight like it’s nothing. The champion pair who won the last ox haul pulled 10,200 pounds of weight! It was insanity!

Workhorses! Who were so huge! I swear atleast 3x Lucy's size

Dairy cows, super quiet & cute.

And that’s a recap of all the animals, besides the light horses like Lucy. I don’t have very many photos of me riding Lucy, just a few from the show,which I will post.

Overall , I was extremely impressed with Luce.  I really thought all the noise and commotion of the ex would freak her out. There was oxen mooing and going by with ringing bells, gaming horses running around, people moving heavy objects with machines, etc. But, she handled it like it was nothing and I’m so proud of her! She did awesome in the show aswell, we won most of our classes , with only 1 second and two thirds overall. I love her so much :)

Winning our first class, Pleasure Stake. I have a really huge smile on my face, if you zoom in on the photo

kisses.

the ribbons we won :) I also won a trophy but don't have a picture of it.

And that’s it! That’s my recap of my week. It was really fun but extremely tiring. I hope I didn’t bore you with all the photos!

It’s now 8am and I’m starving, time for breakfast! Have a good day!

– Jenn :)

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats to you and Luce!! You must be so proud of her, and rightfully so :) That is a lot for a horse to see, so I’m very glad she took it all in stride. And hopefully Sam settled down after a bit, too! It was still a good experience for him, even if he had to stay in his stall most of the weekend. Hope your friend has a fast recovery :)
    Now catch up on some sleep! :P

    • Thanks ! :) Sam did improve, eventually. And my friend is doing better!

  2. I’m so glad I found your blog! I LOVE LOVE LOVE horses! I showed Paso Finos (English) for 10 years! I miss them so much, they are such sweet gentle friends. All of your farm animal pictures brought back memories of where I come from.  Great job on all the ribbons! Blue is ALWAYS good.

    • That’s so cool! I’m definitely going to visit your blog, I always love finding people who love horses aswell!
      thanks for the comment :)

  3. Looks like so much fun!!! I love fairs like that but havent been to one in years. Too bad to hear about her getting dumped twice in one day- that’s never any fun. :/ Hopefully she feels better soon! :)

    And congrats on winning!! Luce is precious :)

    • thanks !
      i appreciate the comment :)

  4. that pup is so cute i can’t stand it!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

